Throwback Third Thursday

Today, I heard the news that the longtime CEO of Nintendo, Hiroshi Yamauchi has died. I spent a lot of my childhood struggling to beat any of the Mario Bros. games. No matter how hard I studied Nintendo Power Magazine I have never been able to cheat my way to victory.

tetrisattacksnes-1

Still my game of choice.

But this throwback doesn’t go all the way back to 1985, when NES was first released in the US. This is a throwback to 2007 when my then boyfriend (now husband) first fired up the SNES for a game of Tetris Attack. My years of Dr. Mario and Yoshi paid off, I didn’t win but I held my own, and we are still playing Tetris Attack today. SNES is the only game console we own. We have 2 other games, Mario Bros and Super BomberMan 2 (for when guests come over) though we rarely change the games because it takes a lot of teasing to get the SNES to accept a new cartridge.

poochy

I always play Poochy.

fireblob

Gargantua Blargg always wins.

Thanks for keeping us entertained, Hiroshi Yamauchi!

Leave a Reply

